Course > Classes > Fist Martial Art

Fist Martial Art

Five Stances Fist

Five Stances Fist (or Wu Bu Quan) is the short preliminary routine of Northern Shaolin Martial Arts. It connects five basic stances in sequence, i.e. Ma Bu (Horse Stance), Gong Bu (Bow and Arrow Stance), Xu Bu (Empty Stance), Xie Bu (Twisted Stance) and Pu Bu (deep, squatted stance). It looks into the stability in stance and proper release of strength.

Deep, Squatted Stance (Pu Bu)

"Deep, Squatted Stance (Pu Bu)"

Spring Leg

Spring Leg (or Tan Tui) is the first basic routine of Northern Shaolin Martial Arts. Its name was originated from Dragon Pool Temple (or Long Tan Temple) of Shandong province. Tan Tui has 12 different but simple sections. Its symmetric movements would enhance the basic punches, legwork, stances and stamina. Every section demands the well coordination of hands-eye-and-body, so that the stance and movements are stable and agile.

Tan Tui Section 2

"Spring Leg (or Tan Tui) - Section 2"

Power Fist

Power Fist (or Gong Li Quan) is a famous routine in Northern Shaolin and is the second routine of the ten fundamental Chinwoo routines. It requires sturdy and proper postures with firm stances, as well as, hand techniques such as fist, palm and hook. Power Fist focuses on strengthening the arms, developing waist muscles and improving stances. Hence, it is crucial to precisely release of strength while shift the stance in forms of quick and agile, but stable.

Power Fist (Gong Li Quan)

"Power Fist (Gong Li Quan)"

Connecting Fist

Connecting Fist (or Jie Quan) is a modern-like, fast and fierce routine that normally used for competitions. It consists of Northern Shaolinis characteristics and requires good coordination of leg movements such as whirlwind kick, jumping slap kick, consecutive jumping kicks and backsweep. Its vigorous and powerful techniques lead one's martial art to an upper level.

Connecting Fist (Jie Quan)

"Connecting Fist (Jie Quan)"